Girls win 8th Sectional title; Westcott qualifies individually

Saturday, October 27 2018 - IHSA Sectional


Emily Eberhart's individual championship propelled the Foxes cross country team to its second-straight Sectional title and its 11th-straight IHSA State meet, held Nov. 3, 2018 at the historic Detweiller Park course in Peoria. It was the eighth time in school history a Foxes girls team has won a Sectional title.

Eberhart's 17 minute, 18.6 second effort led the field of 139 runners. But she was not alone in the top 10, as the Foxes went 1-2-3-6-9 for the team win with 21 points. Kailey Fox (2nd, 17:19), Helena Kleronomos (3rd, 17:21), Hailey Simmons (6th, 18:14) and Olivia Borowiak (9th, 18:30) all scored for the Foxes, while Sara Klemm (20th, 18:48) and Mady Klebenow (78th, 20:16) rounded out the top seven. It was Klebenow's first run since being sidelined with an injury after the YHS Invite. 

On the boys side, Ivan Westcott punched his ticket individually to the state meet next weekend after the boys team fell just short of a team qualification. Westcott placed 9th overall in 15:40, followed by Alex Loos (28th, 16:14), Jackson Edwards (30th, 16:16), Ben Tholen (31st, 16:16), Corey Kramer (49th, 16:31), Austin Hunter (69th, 16:51) and Jack Stillmunkes (75th, 16:58). The Foxes placed 6th as a team with 134 points. O’Fallon won the meet with 86 points, followed by fellow team qualifiers Edwardsville (110), Normal University (115), Minooka (122) and Lockport (126).